The Last Good Day of the Year by Jessica Warman – Review by Dana Murphy

Nerdy Book Club

the last good day of the yearIt was late at night when I started reading.  My daughters, Maddie and Katie, were asleep in their bedrooms upstairs.  Our house was almost silent, except for the occasional crackle of the icemaker or the creak of a windowpane.

I started to read, not knowing I would be awake for the next four hours as I told myself over and over ‘just one more chapter.’

The Last Good Day of the Year by Jessica Warman opens with Samantha (age 7), her sister ‘Turtle’ (age 4), and their neighbor and friend, Remy, in the basement of Sam and Turtle’s house.  Their parents are enjoying a party upstairs, laughing and drinking, while the kids get ready to sleep downstairs.

Maybe it was that Sam and Turtle reminded me of my own sister and myself when we were kids.  Turtle is crying because Sam won’t play with her, but eventually Sam feels bad…

Lihat pos aslinya 521 kata lagi

Tinggalkan Balasan

